By Adam Duckworth/MotoHead.com

British teams swept to victory in both blue riband classes of the Vets Des Nations at Falreigh Castle, winning the Twin-Shock and Evo classes, against tough international competition from the USA in the world’s biggest retro motocross festival.

With over 600 riders competing on the famous and historic Farleigh Castle Circuit, thousands of spectators saw close racing in all the classes over two days that were hit by heavy rain overnight. But the highlight was the Evo Des Nations battle which saw current and former GP and AMA pro riders go head-to-head on bikes that officially should have been made before 1989. Although Mike Brown’s Husky clearly flouted the rules as it had a very modern front end on it!

But it was Team England that ran away with the Evo Des Nations victory, as Kurt Nicoll, Mark Eastwood, Tom Church and Brian Wheeler took the win from their American rivals of Mike Brown, John Dowd, Doug Dubach and Todd De Hoop. Third was Team Belgium who edged out South Africa for the final podium spot despite South African Nev Bradshaw making a clean sweep of all four motos after fighting off challenges from Mike Brown. Recently retired pro Bradshaw will also represent South Africa in the Motocross of Nations at Metterely Basin in two weeks.


And in the Twin-shock Nations, Team Twinshock UK’s Alex Rach, Rick Du-Feu, Terry House and Wayne Butt took the win from the North of England and Luxembourg teams.

In the individual Evo classes, EMX300 champion Brad Anderson romped to victory on a Honda CR500 in the 500 class. And in a fitting homage to the late Hakan Carlqvist, he had such a huge lead he stopped for a beer on the penultimate lap! He struggled to kick the CR back into life but still won with ease.

And former British champion Kristian Whatley won all four 125 races in his first ride back since breaking his femur. He was only given the go-ahead to ride by the doctor a few days before the event.

Kurt Nicoll was in winning ways in the Over-50 Evo class, taking a KX500 to the win over long-time rival Doug Dubach. While John Down piloted a Maico to the Over-50 Twin-Shock win. But it was a disastrous weekend for Jeff Emig, who had bike problems and crashes and failed to finish a moto. But he was loved by the spectators, as was Doug Henry who made a guest appearance alongside Dakar winner Sam Sunderland who couldn’t race as he had bike problems.

And even US 250 champion Zach Osborne turned up to spectate, alongside former world champion Graham Noyce. Former GP star Mervyn Anstie raced and had lots of fun with 10th overall in the Twin Shock Des Nations races and 24th in the Evo 500s, while his son Max was in France finishing on the MXGP podium!



3. Belgium

VETS DES NATIONS TWIN-SHOCK 1. England 2. North of England

3. Luxembourg

EVO  1. Neville Bradshaw 2. John Dowd 3. Mark Eastwood 4. Kurt Nicoll 5. Craig Anderson 6. Jurgen Van-Nooten 7. Tom Church 8. Brian Wheeler 9. Marvin Vandaele

10. Patrick Caps

TWIN-SHOCK 1. David Campbell 2. Alex Rach 3. Terry House 4. Didier Stommen 5. Rick Du-Feu 6. Stephen Kelly 7. Wayne Butt 36 8. Lance Marshall 9. Daniel Thomas

10. Merv Anstie

SUPEREVO  1. Chuck Davies 2. Matt French 3. Chris Hind 4. Ben Popperwell

5. Lee Brown


1. Kurt Nicoll 2. Doug Dubach 3. James Deakin 4. Paolo Caramellino

5. Nick Abbott

EVO 500 1. Brad Anderson 2. Shane Carless 3. Barry Turnbull 4. Sam Chapman

5. Danny Blakeley

TWIN-SHOCK UNDER 50 1. Jordan Carter 2. Michael Smith 3. Todd De Hoop 4. Laurence Wiltshire

5. Luke Hill

TWIN-SHOCK OVER 50 1. John Dowd 2. Kevin Reed 3. Alan Bott 4. Massimo Signorin

5. Brad van Barrelo

EVO 250 1. Luke Hawkins 2. Mark Eastwood 3. Jamie Skuse 11 4. Bradley Wheeler

5. Will Worden

PRE-85 FOUR-STROKE 1. Kris Rosenberger 2. Bjorn Verdoodt 3. Joe Melton 4. Barry Ranson

5. Pat Jackson

PRE-85 OPEN 1. Paul Kirby 2. James Jackaman 3. Paul Aldridge 4. Michael Hill

5. Neil Sutton

PRE-83 125 1. Andrea Storti 2. Neil Prince 3. Paul Bennett 4. Rob Mead

5. Martin Stokes

EVO 125 1. Kristian Whatley 2. Laurent Lacasse 3. John May 4. Andrew Lawton

5. Jurgen van Nooten