Portugal MXGP 2017 | RESULTS & PHOTOS


Both MXGP and MX2 class continue to provide some great on-track action as the world motocross championships move well into the second half of the season. After the extreme heat of Ottobiano, Italy last weekend, Agueda in Portugal was this week’s host and while the temperatures were still pretty hot, there weren’t heat-stricken bodies lining the track like we saw in Italy.

In the MXGP class, Antonio Cairoli once again got the better of his teammate Jeffrey Herlings, winning the crucial second moto after the Dutch rookie passed the Italian on his way to winning the first. Cairoli now extended his lead at the top of the championship to 91 points as Herlings once again had to suffer the frustration of being the first loser (his words). He did have some positive news though as both Clement Desalle and Gautier Paulin struggled with their results, leaving the Dutchman just 5 points off second place in the championship. Rounding off the MXGP podium was surprise package Arminas Jasikonis, who went 3-3 for his first ever podium spot. The Suzuki rider won the qualification race yesterday and backed that up today with two very impressive rides that saw him secure third overall with just a couple of laps remaining.

Jeremy Seewer made it two wins in a row in the MX2 class, also swapping race wins with his title rival Pauls Jonass as the pair remained 38 points apart in the title battle. Passing Thomas Covington on the final lap of the first race for second spot was the important moment for Seewer, who once again passed Jonass in race two to take the win. For Jonass, it’s another race down and as long as he continues to get great starts, it’s going to be hard for Seewer to close up enough points before the end of the season. Thomas Covington grabbed third place, comfortably ahead of fourth place in both races, although he’ll probably be a little disappointed he wasn’t able to challenge for the lead after winning the qualification race yesterday. The season now takes a three week break, before resuming in Loket, Czech Republic on July 23rd.

MXGP Overall:

  1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 47 points
  2. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 47 p.
  3. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, SUZ), 40 p.
  4. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 34 p.
  5. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 34 p.
  6. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 28 p.
  7. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, YAM), 26 p.
  8. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 26 p.
  9. Max Anstie (GBR, HUS), 24 p.
  10. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 22 p.

MXGP Points Standings:

  1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 478 points
  2. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 387 p.
  3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HUS), 383 p.
  4. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 382 p.
  5. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 310 p.

MX2 Overall:

  1. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, SUZ), 47 points
  2. Pauls Jonass (LAT, KTM), 47 p.
  3. Thomas Covington (USA, HUS), 40 p.
  4. Thomas Kjer Olsen (DEN, HUS), 34 p.
  5. Benoit Paturel (FRA, YAM), 33 p.
  6. Brian Bogers (NED, KTM), 29 p.
  7. Brent Van doninck (BEL, YAM), 26 p.
  8. Anthony Rodriguez (VEN, HON), 24 p.
  9. David Herbreteau (FRA, KAW), 20 p.
  10. Iker Larranaga Olano (ESP, HUS), 20 p.

MX2 Points Standings:

  1. Pauls Jonass (LAT, KTM), 501 points
  2. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, SUZ), 463 p.
  3. Thomas Kjer Olsen (DEN, HUS), 377 p.
  4. Benoit Paturel (FRA, YAM), 363 p.
  5. Julien Lieber (BEL, KTM), 355 p.