British Cycling announces stacked World Champs squad - Dirt


Although no Brit has won a World Cup yet this year, the top 20 and podium has been stacked with UK talent. We’re also stoked all three of the British boys on the Dirt team have picked up a spot too, with Phil Atwill heading to his first senior World Champs.

Missing out this year are Brendan Fairclough, Jack Reading, Taylor Vernon and Reece Wilson who all currently sit above other riders who were picked in the overall, however their consistency hasn’t really seen them challenge the top ten, potentially a reason they didn’t make the cut. We’re also surprised to see Meg James miss out after winning two World Cups in the junior women category.

The riders should know the classic course well having visited it on the World Cup circuit in 2014 and 2016. It’s been Atherton domination in the past with Rach picking up two wins there and Gee one – here have also been podiums for Tahnee and Manon.

Heading to Cairns in September will be:

Great Brotain downhill mountain biking World Championships Squad Cairns 2017

Elite Men:

  • Gee Atherton (2x World Champion – 2010, 2014)
  • Phil Atwill
  • Adam Brayton
  • Laurie Greenland (Junior World Champion)
  • Danny Hart (2x World Champion – 2011, 2016)
  • Charlie Hatton
  • Bernard Kerr
  • Greg Williamson

Elite Women

  • Rachel Atherton (4x World Champion – 2008, 2013, 2015, 2016)
  • Manon Carpenter (World Champion – 2014)
  • Tahnee Seagrave

Junior Men

  • Joe Breeden
  • Kade Edwards
  • George Kerr
  • Henry Kerr
  • Joe Parfitt
  • Kaos Seagrave
  • Matt Walker

Junior Women