6

motocross.transworld.net

TWMX Race Series Racer Profile | Jordan Dowell | Transworld Motocross

6
...

TWMX Race Series Racer Profile

Jordan Dowell

Age: 13

Hometown: Ventura, CA

Classes Raced: Open 85-150, Supermini

Sponsors: Simi Valley Cycles, Bell Helmets, Spy Goggles, Seven Gear, Galfer USA, Bud
Racing, MK Motorsports, BTO, R&D Racing, ASV.

How long have you been racing and what led you to choose motocross?
I started with quad riding and then I got on my first motorcycle when I was 4 years old. It was actually my friend’s pit bike and I rode it around when we used to go trail riding. Then my big brothers got dirt bikes and started racing them, so then I wanted to do it too. I got a 50 and then I got a hand me down from my brother, his 65. I started racing when I was 6 years old.

Do you look up to your brothers since they race too?
They don’t really race anymore. One of them stopped, and the other got in too many crashes (laughs).

Do you participate in any other sports or have any other hobbies?
I like skateboarding, but mainly just motocross.

What are your favorite types of tracks and track obstacles?
I like doing jumps, those are really fun. My favorite track has to be Mammoth or Loretta’s because those are also fun.

How do you like the track out at Glen Helen today? Is it rough from all the rainfall we received?
The track is kind of bumpy, but it is super fun to ride. You just have to be smooth on the throttle.

Are you a regular here at the TransWorld Race Series?
I don’t really race them that much. We do this so I can get my mindset for nationals.

From what you’ve experienced, how do you like the way we run the TransWorld Race Series events?
I think they’re really fun and cool. It’s good for beginners when they first start riding to be able to race TransWorld.

What is your favorite thing about being a motocross racer?
I like the hype and adrenaline of it when you’re riding. It just feels really good and is so fun.

What would you rather do, holeshot and run away or come from behind to win?
I like coming from behind to win, like if I ever tip over that’s why I just love catching up to everyone.

Tell me about your bike and why you chose it and what have you done to make it work well for you?
I used to ride KTM then Husky, but when we got Yamahas. I liked the suspension a lot and the new 2019 has got the power valves. I like the suspension a lot, it fits for me.