San Diego Supercross 250 Class Photo Finish


The sixth round of the AMA Supercross West Regional 250SX championship was held at Petco Park in downtown San Diego, where Autotrader/JGR/Yoshimura/Suzuki Factory Racing’s Justin Hill achieved his first win of the 2018 season. Hill’s victory also marked his second podium finish in a row.

“Perfect days don’t come very often, so I’m basking in the goodness of going 1-1-1…fastest qualifier, heat win, and main event win,” Hill said. “My strategy in the main event was to calculate everything around me. I had good runs through the whoops and knew where I could gain. The pass was made before the whoops so I could pull away in the sand section. I had a couple ideas on accident avoidance in order to stay ahead. Once I got a small gap, I tried to get back into a zone click away good laps.”

Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Adam Cianciarulo led 11 of the 18 lap race before he was passed by Hill. Cianciarulo would cross the line in second when the checkered flag flew to garner his third podium finish of the season.

“I’m so pumped on my start,” Cianciarulo said. “I’m more excited about the holeshot than I am the podium finish. I’ve been working so hard on my starts and to finally see a result means a lot. Overall, today was really good for us and I’m looking forward to the break as the East Coast guys start racing.”

Rounding out the podium was GEICO Honda rookie Chase Sexton. The 18-year-old rider was able to pass Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Joey Savatgy for third early on in the race. Sexton’s third-place finish marks the young rider’s second 250SX podium result of his career.

“[Hill and Cianciarulo] were riding good,” Sexton said. “They were battling pretty hard and I was trying to be there in case anything happened, but nothing did. Then I got held up by a lapper and they kind of dropped me, but it was a good race. The track got pretty tough at the end, so I’m just happy to get third.”

Rounding out the top five were Savatgy and Troy Lee Designs/Red Bull/KTM’s Shane McElrath while the series point leader, Monster Energy/Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha’s Aaron Plessinger, finished eighth.

Position Rider Brand Points
1 Aaron Plessinger Yamaha 133
2 Joey Savatgy Kawasaki 129
3 Shane McElrath KTM 117
4 Adam Cianciarulo Kawasaki 116
5 Chase Sexton Honda 107
6 Christian Craig Honda 106
7 Justin Hill Suzuki 105
8 Kyle Chisholm Yamaha 84
9 Mitchell Harrison Husqvarna 72
10 Hayden Mellross Yamaha 67