Salt Lake City Supercross 250 Class Photo Finish


The ninth round of the AMA Supercross West Regional 250SX championship was hosted in front of 43,849 fans at Rice-Eccles Stadium in Salt Lake City, Utah, where Troy Lee Designs/Red Bull/KTM’s Shane McElrath achieved his second main-event victory of the season.

“At some point in the race, I almost had to ask myself, ‘Am I going to do it again?’ ” McElrath said. “The whole team worked really hard this week to dial in the bike. They really blow me away with how much they want it and it pushes me harder when I’m out there to give them the win. I’m really blessed and thankful to be here (on the podium).”

Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Adam Cianciarulo began his day by setting the fastest lap time in practice and winning the second 250SX heat race. At the start of the main event, he rounded the first corner in fourth place and made two passes to move into second by the time the checkered flag flew.

“I had a great day,” Cianciarulo said. “I felt amazing on the bike today and nearly had the win tonight. I believe my riding and speed were there, but I didn’t get the start I needed. We’ll take this momentum into Vegas and give it everything we’ve got.”

Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Joey Savatgy grabbed the holeshot in the main event and got out to an early lead. Savatgy led for eight laps before making a mistake in the whoops and allowing two riders by, one being teammate Cianciarulo. Savatgy rode out the rest of the race to finish on the final step of the podium in Salt Lake City.

“We had a good shot at making up a lot of points today, but couldn’t quite get it done,” Savatgy said. “Overall, the bike and the team were on point and we’re still in contention for the championship.”

Position Rider Brand Points
1 Aaron Plessinger Yamaha 196
2 Adam Cianciarulo Kawasaki 183
3 Joey Savatgy Kawasaki 174
4 Shane McElrath KTM 172
5 Chase Sexton Honda 150
6 Justin Hill Suzuki 128
7 Kyle Chisholm Yamaha 124
8 Mitchell Harrison Husqvarna 115
8 Christian Craig Honda 106
10 Phil Nicoletti Yamaha 94