Jacob Argubright And Max Eddy Get First Vegas-To-Reno Win


The 22nd General Tire Vegas to Reno, presented by Fox, witnessed a number of firsts. For Jacob Argubright and Max Eddy Jr., on the Chidester Transport Racing Yamaha YZ450FX, it marked their first-ever overall motorcycle win in America’s longest off-road race, Eddy having chased it for 15 years and Argubright for three.

The Cooper Motorsports 747 Honda CRF450RX ridden by Brody Honea, Ross Neely, and Justin Wallis reached the finish line in Dayton, Nevada, physically first, having led much of the 530 miles from the start in Beatty (team regular Tallon Taylor had to sit out due to injury and helped chase), but their overall time came up a few minutes short of Argubright and Eddy’s, so they had to settle for second overall. Argubright/Eddy’s total elapsed time was eight hours, 36 minutes, and 16.3 seconds, unofficially, while Honea/Neely/Wallis clocked an 8:43:06.9, having accrued a five-minute penalty for failing to stop completely at the 14th and final pit.

However, they weren’t too disappointed because it was their first V-R podium (in fact, it was the first V-R for Neely and Wallis) and it allowed them to capture the cherished series championship in Best in the Desert’s four-round American Off-road Racing Series, having compiled a 2-5-1-2 record for the season.

“It was a super-close Vegas-to-Reno and super-fun,” Honea said.

Not to be overlooked, Chris Brown and Shane Esposito showed up as a late entry, making them last of the Open Pros off the line. Despite that handicap, they quickly worked their way into the fight for first aboard their Bremen Racing Honda CRF450X, even leading before eventually finishing third in 8:45:19.4.

Ray Dal Soglio and Nic Garvin took fourth in 9:03:00.9 aboard their Baja Bound Insurance YZ450FX with Jason Alosi and Wyatt Brittner rounding out the top five among the 85 motorcycle and ATV entries in 9:04:46.0 on their Source-1 Commercial Cleaning Services KTM 450 XC-F.