Grant Baylor Wins Gobbler Getter National Enduro


The Kenda AMA National Enduro Series wrapped up its 2018 season with its series finale in Stanton, Alabama, at the Gobbler Getter National Enduro. And as they have done all year, brothers Steward and Grant Baylor were prominent figures. Grant took the overall win after topping three of the six tests.

“Today was awesome,” Grant said. “The track was a bit slippery and it was hard to get stopped in places. I fell over in a few turns, but after I won that first test I just tried to be smooth and not lose the advantage.”

Meanwhile, Steward clinched the 2018 national title with a third-place finish—his second title in two years and the third of his career.

“I’m pumped to wrap up another National Enduro championship,” Steward said. “We had an awesome year with a very smooth season and I look forward to the 2019 season, where I look to defend my title again.”

Finishing second overall and second on the year was FMF KTM Factory Racing’s Josh Toth, who was participating in the series for the first time as a full-timer. Toth won the final test of the day to separate himself from Steward and SRT Husqvarna’s Evan Smith, who were both battling with Toth over the runner-up slot.

“The final National Enduro of the year was a ton of fun with a great course and conditions,” Toth said. “I had super-close racing all day with [Steward] Baylor and Evan Smith, and it came down to the last test with me in fourth place, just 10 seconds from second place. I put my head down and ripped the last test, winning the test and grabbing second overall. I’m very happy to have had a consistent year in NEPG, while learning a lot and improving my riding. It was my first year competing in the series and being runner-up to a three-time NEPG champion and fighting all the way into the last race is something I am proud of; I will only improve from here!”

Smith ended the day in fourth, just two seconds behind Steward, while Trail Jesters Racing KTM’s Ben Kelley rounded out the top five.

Position Rider Brand
1 Grant Baylor KTM
2 Josh Toth KTM
3 Steward Baylor KTM
4 Evan Smith Husqvarna
5 Ben Kelley KTM
6 Ryder Lafferty KTM
7 Andrew Delong GasGas
8 Liam Draper KTM
9 Jesse Ansley KTM
10 Thorn Devlin GasGas
Position Rider Brand Points
1 Steward Baylor KTM 224
2 Josh Toth KTM 208
3 Grant Baylor KTM 192
4 Ben Kelley KTM 155
5 Evan Smith Husqvarna 130
6 Cory Buttrick Husqvarna 122
7 Andrew Delong GasGas 110
8 Thad Duvall Husqvarna 97
9 Ryder Lafferty KTM 91
10 Russell Bobbitt KTM 86