2019 Anaheim 2 Supercross 250 Class Photo Finish


Troy Lee Designs/Red Bull/KTM’s Shane McElrath won the 250SX class overall at the first Triple Crown race of the 2019 AMA Supercross series at Anaheim 2. McElrath steadily progressed throughout the night with 3-2-1 main event finishes to take the overall win, his first victory of the season.

“We’ve been learning a lot throughout the season so far,” McElrath said. “I mean, we had a really good off-season, but you can’t really do bike setup without going to the races and that’s my comfort—that’s really what we’ve been searching for. The last two weekends have been upsetting because of the way I’ve been riding, but we’ve just kept pushing—perseverance produces hope, so this is good for us.”

Monster Energy/Yamalube/Star/Yamaha Racing’s Dylan Ferrandis matched his Anaheim 1 finish with a second-place result at Anaheim 2. The French rider now sits third place in the championship point standings.

“The short amount of time between each main event made it physically demanding, but I felt good and strong all night,” Ferrandis said. “All the rain from the week made for really technical rhythm sections, but the bike was awesome. My teammate and I were able to put the bike up front at every start. I’m a bit disappointed to finished second again, but [my team and I] are going to analyze our race and work on what we need for the win.”

Monster Energy/Yamalube/Star/Yamaha Racing’s Colt Nichols’ 1-3-4 main event finishes put him in third overall on the night. Nichols has finished on the podium in every round so far this season and has a two-point advantage in the point standings over McElrath leading into round 4 at Oakland-Alameda County Coliseum in Oakland, California.

“The track was very difficult,” Nichols said. “It got really rutty and soft during the third main event, so made it very hard to continue to jump the rhythm sections and keep everything consistent. The bike was incredible [and helped me get] off to three really great starts. I’m a little bummed with the way I rode in the last main event after getting the holeshot, but overall it was a good night. [I] still came out with a podium [and] can’t be mad at that. It was also pretty tough to bounce back in between each race with there being a short time in between each one of the main events. [That] made it physically demanding, but [I’m] happy with the way I rode. [I] just have to get a little bit better.” Geico Honda’s RJ Hampshire and Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Adam Cianciarulo rounded out the top five, respectively.

Position Rider Brand Points
1 Colt Nichols Yamaha 70
2 Shane McElrath KTM 68
3 Dylan Ferrandis Yamaha 63
4 Adam Cianciarulo Kawasaki 62
5 RJ Hampshire Honda 57
6 Jimmy Decotis Suzuki 44
Chris Blose Husqvarna 44
8 Cameron McAdoo Honda 41
9 Michael Mosiman Husqvarna 39
10 Jacob Hayes KTM 37