2018 Spring Creek National Motocross 250 Class Photo Finish


Monster Energy/Yamalube/Star/Yamaha Racing’s Aaron Plessinger claimed his second-straight 1-1 sweep at round 8 of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship at the Spring Creek National in Millville, Minnesota. With four rounds remaining, Plessinger holds a 49-point lead in the championship standings.

“It can’t get much better than the past few races,” Plessinger said. “I’m just really clicking with the team and the bike right now. Hopefully we can keep the momentum rolling and have another good run next weekend. Those couple of bad races in the middle of the season really motivated to get back on the top of my game.”

Monster Energy/Yamalube/Star/Yamaha Racing’s Justin Cooper’s 4-3 moto scores were enough to secure him second overall on the day. The Yamaha rider sits third overall in the point standings and trails Plessinger by 94 points.

“A great weekend in the books,” Cooper said. I’ve never been to Millville, but I’ll have to say it’s one of my favorite tracks now! I had a lot of fun all day and felt like myself again after being pretty beat up for the last few weeks. The weekend off definitely helped get the body feeling better and getting me back into my groove. Thanks to the people helping me out!”

Troy Lee Designs/Red Bull/KTM’s Alex Martin earned third overall at his home track with 7-2 moto scores for the day and continues to hold second overall in the championship standings with four rounds remaining.

“[It’s] always fun coming home to Spring Creek,” Martin said. “[It was a] bit of an up and down day with seventh in moto 1, but I was able to turn things around with a holeshot and second in moto 2 to grab an overall podium on the day. Thanks to the hometown crowd for all the love!”

Position Rider Brand Points
1 Aaron Plessinger Yamaha 333
2 Alex Martin KTM 284
3 Justin Cooper Yamaha 239
4 Austin Forkner Kawasaki 216
5 Shane McElrath KTM 214
6 RJ Hampshire Honda 201
7 Jordon Smith KTM 197
8 Chase Sexton Honda 195
9 Joey Savatgy Kawasaki 177
10 Jeremy Martin Honda 176