2018 Southwick National Motocross 250 Class Photo Finish


Monster Energy/Yamalube/Star/Yamaha Racing’s Dylan Ferrandis claimed his first career 250 class overall victory at round 6 of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship at the Southwick National in Southwick, Massachusetts. Ferrandis’ 4-1 moto scores gave him the overall victory and he became the fifth different rider to win an overall this season.

"I'm so happy to finally get my first overall win today," Ferrandis said. "I've been working really hard to come back from injury, and it's always a battle, but I think that we're finally getting back to where we belong. It's really cool to see Marvin [Musquin] win today as well. I think that it's something that's very good for France and gives the fans something to cheer for."

Troy Lee Designs/Red Bull/KTM’s Alex Martin finished second in moto 1 and then came together with Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Austin Forkner near the end of moto 2 while attempting to pass for the lead, but remounted his 250 SX-F to finish fourth in the moto and second overall on the day.

“The first three rounds we had a shock setting that was working pretty well, but there were a couple things I didn’t like about it, so we changed some stuff and then I was basically on the ground for the next four motos,” Martin said. “We were thinking maybe that’s not the right direction, so we went a bit stiffer (on the shock) for a little more holdup and I thought it worked good. I feel like we made a positive step in the right direction today.”

Troy Lee Designs/Red Bull/KTM’s Shane McElrath rounded out the top three overall with a pair of Motosport.com holeshots and 6-2 moto finishes.

“I broke my outdoor podium record today,” McElrath said. “I got two in a year. It’s a big step for me. I really struggled with the bike all day. I just couldn’t really get it dialed in. With that, being on the podium feels just like a win. For having an off day and not feeling very good, it’s good to be on the podium.”

Position Rider Brand Points
1 Aaron Plessinger Yamaha 233
2 Alex Martin KTM 210
3 Jeremy Martin Honda 176
4 Justin Cooper Yamaha 174
5 Shane McElrath KTM 170
6 Austin Forkner Kawasaki 169
7 RJ Hampshire Honda 154
8 Jordon Smith KTM 151
9 Chase Sexton Honda 141
10 Joey Savatgy Kawasaki 128