2018 Ironman National Motocross 250 Class Photo Finish


Monster Energy/Yamalube/Star/Yamaha Racing’s Aaron Plessinger capped off his championship-winning season with a dominant 1-1 effort in the 250 class at the final round of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship at the Ironman National in Crawfordsville, Indiana. The Yamaha rider capped off his breakthrough season by winning six of 12 rounds, which is the most wins in a single season since 2013 when Eli Tomac won seven times en route to the championship. Plessinger brings his 250 class career to a close with eight career victories.

“The whole day went really smooth,” Plessinger said. “The [Geico Honda] guys were riding great. I just got two great starts and made my way into the lead both motos, and then I just tried to be consistent and ride my own race. Everything worked out according to plan and now we’re up here on top of the podium. I’m pretty pumped on how we ended the season.”

Geico Honda’s RJ Hampshire followed up his first career victory at the previous round with a runner-up effort at Ironman with 4-3 moto finishes.

We just couldn’t really put it together [in the beginning of the season],” Hampshire said. “Double podiums for Geico Honda two weekends in a row is huge, especially the way we started out, and then losing Jeremy [Martin].”

Geico Honda’s Chase Sexton wrapped up his season with back-to-back overall podium results going 2-6 in the muddy conditions in Indiana.

“I’ve actually raced a GNCC here twice,” Sexton. “I wished it would have helped me out there. Falling six times in the second moto is not GNCC-worthy. I got a good start and RJ [Hampshire] gave me a gift and fell over. I saw Aaron [Plessinger] and was feeling good. Then I hit the ground and it went downhill from there.”

Position Rider Brand Points
1 Aaron Plessinger Yamaha 500
2 Alex Martin KTM 390
3 Justin Cooper Yamaha 352
4 RJ Hampshire Honda 337
5 Shane McElrath KTM 332
6 Chase Sexton Honda 324
7 Austin Forkner Kawasaki 314
8 Dylan Ferrandis Yamaha 310
9 Joey Savatgy Kawasaki 275
10 Jordon Smith KTM 259