1

www.pinkbike.com

Coming up: Ask Me Anything with Trauma & Orthopaedic Doctor Henry Turner

1
...


Henry Turner is a South African living in Ireland who loves the outdoors, rugby, hiking and mountain biking. He is an active member of the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland as well as the AO trauma group. His specific interests include Orthopaedic trauma and sports injuries. He competes in a few local enduro races in Ireland and also took part in Round 7 of the EWS 2018 in Ainsa, Spain. He'd like to give something back to the mountain bike community and we figured this would be a good place to start.

What he can answer: Reasonably detailed questions about the limb/ area injured, what exactly happened, what did you do after the injury, where and for how long is it still hurting or affecting your riding/daily activities.

What he cannot answer: Cancer and funny breath questions, opinions about other doctors' management of the injury as I don't know the exact circumstances and I have not examined the patient myself, insurance advice, cost of surgery/treatment.

Disclaimer: The discussion and tips given in this thread should be taken as suggestions only, and under no circumstances should be deemed as formal medical treatment or advice. We recommend that, if unsure, you seek further treatment from a registered medical professional of your choice. An online forum will never be as thorough, detailed and accurate as a real visit to a medical professional.



How ‘Ask Us Anything' Works: Starting at 10:00 AM PDT/6:00 PM BST on April 3, 2019, you can type your questions for Dr. Henry Turner into the comment box below this article and he'll have a crack at answering them. Sometimes your answer will pop up in a few seconds; others may take a few minutes while Chris works his way through questions that are popping up. Everyone who posts a question, large or small, will be taken seriously. To make this go as smoothly as possible, try to follow these guidelines:• Keep your questions relevant • Stay focused and to keep your questions on one topic if possible. You can always ask about another item later• Try to keep your questions to about 100 words• Ask Us Anything is a service to PB readers who are seeking helpful information, not a forum to broadcast opinions or grievances. If you do have an issue that you want to ask about, no worries, just keep your complaints relevant and in the context of a question so that it can be addressed in a productive manner• Use propping to acknowledge good (or not so good) questions and bump them up or down to where they belong Other time zones:• 1:00 PM EST (New York)• 5:00 PM GMT (London)• 6:00 PM CET (Paris)• 7:00 PM SAST (Cape Town)• 3:00 AM AEST (Sydney, Australia)